Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Event Details

Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor

Brahms Selections from Eleven Choral Preludes
Bach Cantata No. 150, ""Nach Dir, Herr, verlanget mich""
Brahms Symphony No. 4

Yannick has spoken often of his great passion for Brahms, possibly his favorite composer. The culmination of this season's symphonic cycle features selections from his final musical work, the Eleven Choral Preludes, as well as his last symphony and the Bach cantata that inspired it. The Choral Preludes, originally written for organ, are a natural companion to Bach, the master of sacred organ and choral music, who is represented here by his Cantata No. 150. And in an homage across time, Brahms based the final movement of his majestic Fourth Symphony on the final movement of the same Bach Cantata. Hear the Choral Preludes in beautiful new transcriptions by Detlev Glanert alongside the original organ works in this varied presentation featuring the Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ. Marvelous works on their own; even better in context with each other; sublime with Yannick and the Philadelphians!

Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts
Verizon Hall

300 South Broad Street
Philadelphia, PA 19102

Philadelphia Orchestra




    Visit our Venues for information about:


    Maps, Directions and Parking
    Dining and Hotels


    Learn More